Alabama Soil & Water
Conservation Committee


Alabama Association of Conservation Districts


The Alabama Association of Conservation Districts (AACD) is the unified voice of all 67 conservation districts across the state. Organized as a 501(c)(3), AACD is dedicated to cooperating with the Alabama Soil & Water Conservation Committee; supporting programs and services that conserve, enhance, and protect Alabama’s vast natural resources; and informing policy makers at the state and federal level about natural resources issues.

AACD organizes districts (counties) into six areas:

Area 1

Area 2

Area 3

Area 4

Area 5

Area 6


In August 1943, 36 district supervisors met in Auburn to establish an alliance for unified action by conservation districts. Aptly named the Alabama Association of Soil Conservation District Supervisors, the group later changed its name to the Alabama Association of Conservation Districts.


AACD is led by a board of directors of elected state and area officers: president, 1st vice president, 2nd vice president, secretary/treasurer, area vice presidents, immediate past presidents, and National Association of Conservation Districts (NACD) board designees.


  • Laslie Hall, President
    Montgomery County

  • Bill Bailey, 1st Vice President
    Limestone County

  • Micky Smith, 2nd Vice President
    Sumter County

  • Sue D. Gaines, Secretary/Treasurer
    Monroe County

Area Vice Presidents

  • Charles Butler, Area 1
    Madison County

  • Jimmy Jimmerson, Area 2
    Cleburne County

  • Diane McCool, Area 3
    Pickens County

  • Jack Wadsworth, Area 4
    Autauga County

  • Kenneth Sanders, Area 5
    Coffee County

  • Frank Trione, Area 6
    Baldwin County

NACD Board of Directors Designees

Sue Gaines, Board Member
Monroe County

Laslie Hall, Alternate
Montgomery County

Past State Presidents

Sue Gaines
Monroe County

Dr. Carol Knight
Randolph County


Alice Ward, AACD Secretary
P.O. Box 304800
Montgomery, AL 36130